Tags

,

I have to refer to the 80s when I post this recipe, because that’s where they originated for me.  This is the crunchy-soft peanut butter dessert we would find in the elementary school cafeteria – the stuff that always made me want more.  A friend of mine posted the recipe on Facebook one day, and I snagged it.  This is literally the only good thing I remember about school cafeteria food.  LOL!

Combine 1 cup sugar and 1 cup light Karo Syrup. 

Cook in microwave, stirring after 30 sec. intervals until the sugar is dissolved. (It takes 2-3 min. in my microwave.) 

Remove from microwave and add 1 T. butter and 1 cup creamy peanut butter. 

Stir well and cook an additional 30-60 sec. if it has begun to harden. 

Pour over 6 cups Corn Flakes and stir well.  Then you may roll into balls, drop onto waxed paper, or smash into a parchment-lined 9X13 pan.

