Now, THIS is what I’m talkin’ about!!!  I found this recipe in a small pamphlet-style churchy magazine my grandmother shared with me. The lady who provided the recipe used to make these cakes and give them to her church youth group.  The youth sold the cakes for $10 each and used the proceeds for their mission trips.  If that doesn’t make you feel better about humanity, I don’t know what will! 

I used this same recipe in my Bella Dolci days, baking them in my favorite “Cascade” pan from Wilton, and dusting them with powdered sugar before adorning them with fresh berries.  They were an awesome hit!

Without further adieu, I present the best pound cake ever:

1 8-oz. pkg Cream Cheese
3 sticks butter
3 cups sugar
6 eggs
3 cups all-purpose flour
2 tsp. Vanilla extract

Mix softened cream cheese and butter together until creamy.
Add sugar and mix until fluffy
Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition.
Add flour and beat for three minutes
Add vanilla and beat for two more minutes

Bake in tube/bundt pan at 300-325* for 1½ hours.

(*I suppose the baking instructions would be appropriate in a normal pan in a normal oven. My temperamental oven combined with my dark coated pan dictates that I bake this cake for exactly 1 hr. 10 minutes at 300 degrees even.)

