Tags

This is the cornbread I grew up on, sweet and tasty. I can remember my dad crumbling a slice of cornbread into a glass, pouring milk over it and eating it like cereal. (Man, it’s been years since I thought of that!)

1 c. all-purpose flour
1 c. cornmeal
¼ c. sugar
4 t. baking powder
1 egg
1 c. milk
¼ c. oil
½ tsp. salt

Mix dry ingredients together and wet ingredients together (separate bowls). Make well in the center of dry ingredients and pour wet ingredients into it. Blend together with fork until lumps are gone; pour into greased 8”square baking dish. Bake at 425° for 20-23 minutes.

VARIATION: I make Mexican cornbread by stirring in 3 oz. chopped and drained green chiles (or chopped fresh jalapeño) and 1 cup frozen sweet organic corn. I would add chopped red bell pepper too, except Dom hates bell peppers with a passion. 🙂

