Tags

,

I remember my grandmother talking about Seven Minute Icing when I was knee-high to a grasshopper.  Imagine my delight when one of my customers specifically requested it!  (Note:  7 minutes is a really long time when you’re standing over a stovetop holding a mixer in your hand!)  This one, too, is from the Better Homes and Gardens New Baking Cookbook.

1 ½ cups sugar
2 egg whites
¼ tsp cream of tartar OR 2 tsp light-colored corn syrup (Karo)
1 tsp. vanilla

In the top of a double boiler combine the sugar, 1/3 cup cold water, egg whites and cream of tartar (or syrup).  Beat with a portable electric mixer on low speed for 30 seconds.  Place over boiling water (upper pan should not touch water).  Cook, beating constantly with mixer on high speed, about 7 minutes or until stiff peaks form.  Remove from heat; add vanilla; beat 2-3 minutes more until easy to spread.

