I first got the notion of fancy grilled cheese sandwiches from Joy the Baker when she introduced her readers to sandwiches made of goat cheese, spinach, ham and mustard.  I substituted blue cheese because it’s what I had on hand, slathered on some organic dijon and I was instantly hooked!  Have one of those with some HonestTea Peach Oo-La-Long, and you’ve got a mighty fine lunch!

Then last month Southern Living ran an article on upgrading the standard grilled cheese sandwich. I tweaked it a little because, come on…it’s a sandwich.  You can do that.   I actually had to just nut up and make this sandwich, put it on a plate and shove it in front of Dom before he would concede to eat it.  But halfway through dinner he looked up at me, grinned that sly little grin while chewing, and gave the thumbs up sign.  Yesssssssss!!

Grilled Strawberry and Goat Cheese Sandwich

Crumbled goat cheese
Red pepper jelly
Spinach leaves
Fresh basil leaves
sliced fresh strawberries

Butter one side of two pieces of bread. Spread red pepper jelly on alternate side of one slice of bread; layer that slice with goat cheese, then sliced strawberries, followed by basil and spinach leaves over the strawberries. Then sprinkle on some more cheese for good measure if ya want. (I did!)  Carefully close the sandwich and either pan fry or place in a Panini maker.

