As I type this, I am on my way to a family reunion (cousins et al on my mom’s side). Originally, it was just going to be me and Mom making the trip, but circumstances allowed my Dad to go with us. I have been looking forward to this for weeks!!

Once we realized Daddy would join us, I knew that I’d be able to kick back in the backseat, read, blog, sleep – do whatever I wanted to do while someone else worked out the navigational details of getting us to Waco, Texas. Plus, Daddy knows the location of every Starbucks between home and our destination, so I knew I’d have plenty of opportunities to load up on Caramel Macchiatos.

Our first stop was two hours from home. I forgot that my knee would be screaming from being bent for two hours. When we parked at the rest area and I hopped out of the car, my knee caught and left me doubled over for about three seconds before I limped over to the sidewalk. My mom was explaining to Daddy that my knee has issues, and when I hobbled up the curb, Daddy looked at me and sarcastically offered, “Oh, great! YOU’RE gonna be a lot of fun!!”

