Tags

, , ,

Maybe someday I’ll stop saying we have two dogs.

Maybe someday I’ll stop missing the thumping of his tail.

Maybe someday, when someone new comes over and meets Mabel, I won’t feel obligated to explain who Mason was.

Maybe someday I’ll be able to talk to someone else about his or her dog without crying for my own.

Maybe someday I’ll remove his name from the heartworm pill reminder on my phone.

Maybe someday I’ll be able to walk down the aisle at PetSmart where his brand of dog food is shelved.

Maybe someday I’ll look at pictures of him without a hitch in my breath.

Maybe someday we’ll have another puppy.

Maybe someday I’ll forget the feel of him curled up under my feet.

Maybe someday I’ll stop missing our old routines.

Maybe someday I’ll stop comparing Mabel’s personality to his.

Maybe someday I’ll be able to laugh out loud at his goofier moments without ending up in tears.

Maybe someday I’ll stop noticing all the “firsts” our family experiences without him.

Maybe someday I’ll be able to see yellow fur and a wagging tail without being reminded of the Mason-size hole in my heart.

Maybe someday.

Not today.

Definitely not today.

Happy Birthday, Monk! We miss you still.

Mason after a stormy night, March 2014.

Mason after a stormy night, March 2014.

